INSIGHTS

Things I’ve Learned So Far Post-Graduation Moving to D.C., pt. 1

I have no short-term memory and can’t remember everything I’ve learned all at once. Thus, this topic will come in parts. Also, excuse me if my writing is a bit more rusty than usual…I haven’t blogged in ages. Oops.

  1. It’s okay to take a chill pill. Breathe. Relax. Enjoy a glass of earthy red wine or a bottle of rich dark ale. I used to think that any minute spent not working was a crime of life and a precious minute wasted. I was excessive and nuts with the time I spent on work, even for the crazy fast-paced D.C. hustle-and-bustle (where so many people have part-time jobs on top of their full-time jobs and while even still being active members of service organizations!). Was I taking care of myself well? Hardly. Did I neglect my relationships? Certainly. Ew, I never want to go back to that again. Shudders.
  2. It’s never too late to do something you want if you are proactive about it, but it will be too late if you’ve lost all hope already. I meet someone (or many) every day in D.C. Most of the time, they have boundless drive and ambition — either they started young and fresh out of college or they’d been working in the private sector for decades before finally pursuing their passion in public service. They are of all ages and varied experiences. And then I meet those who are set back much too immediately in the face of failure or hardship. They get discouraged and lose their passion. Some never come back. I never want to be one of those. Dreams don’t discriminate, we do.
  3. People with strength in character are the most admirable. Honestly, I couldn’t care less about someone who is solely driven by extrinsic motivations. You make a lot of money? Cool. You’re really ridiculously good-looking? Cool. You have principles and can explain them using your own trials and tribulations? Sold. I love you. I’m fascinated by your depth. Even if we disagree, as long as you’ve developed your beliefs and values via your own introspection, not because someone simply told you to have them, then I think you’re wonderful. Do you want to be friends? Forever?
  4. It’s incredibly important to dedicate ourselves to building and maintaining relationships with people who are hard-working, independent, and make us want to be better people. Most of the time, a person’s work ethic spreads into all aspects of life. Think about it. Those who habitually give up or settle will typically give up and/or settle in a relationship that is totally unfulfilling. But for people who persevere through all odds to reach their goal (successfully or not doesn’t matter), they will work hard for a relationship, through all odds. When things get hard, as they inevitably will, they won’t quit. Simultaneously, however, they must be independent. It stinks to be friends with or to date someone who takes and takes away without contributing their fair share to the relationship. And finally, be with/friends with someone who makes you genuinely want to be a better person, and it would hurt you tremendously to ever disappoint them.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

