INSIGHTS / LITERARY COLLECTIVE

The Soundtrack to My Life: Today’s Feature

Here’s a riddle for you
Find the answer
There’s a reason for the world
You and I…

I really needed to change my starred playlist on Spotify. My playlist changes with the seasons. It’s cold today, so I’m guessing winter is approaching soon. I caught my roommate playing a song back in the early 2000s and decided that’s the period where my new winter playlist will derive from.

I rediscovered The Riddle by Five for Fighting and I almost cried (excuse me, I’m human, and so are you). It’s so appropriate for this time in my life. Basically, it reminded me of how lucky I am, especially at this point in life where I have finally found the relationships with people that I’ve been looking for all through college. I have people in my life now that challenge me and encourage me to grow – the jealous, competitive ones who would make snide remarks about my successes are no longer. I’m ready to grow up – I mean really grow, not just into an older person.

I’m tired of superficial, toxic, or even stagnant relationships – you’re supposed to help each other grow. And I’m sure a lot of people feel this way towards the end of college. I just hope everyone can find relationships that are good for them.

Leave a Reply

