BUCKET LIST

The Best Coffee I’ve Ever Made At Home: Ruta Maya’s Organic Dark Roast

Ruta Maya is a quaint coffee shop located on South Congress Avenue. I’ve actually never had a cup of coffee while I was there – I’d only been once and that was to purchase a couple of cigars for a friend in their little cigar shop located at the back. I have been making their coffee and drinking it at home, however.

My mom and I were shopping at our local Costco and I needed to buy more coffee. My mom picked up Ruta Maya’s Dark Roast because it was the only bag indicated to be organic. I was eager to try it because I thought it was interesting that Costco sells coffee beans from a local coffee shop.

Well, I arrived home and tried it, again and again. I’m sharing this with the blogosphere because I can’t stop obsessing over it. They import 100% organic shade-grown Arabica beans from cooperative farmers in the highlands of Chiapas, Mexico. According to Ruta Maya’s website, their organic Dark Roast is a rich, distinctive and aromatic roast with “smooth flavor with hardly a trace of the bitterness often found in dark roasts” – which is very true and I can attest to it. It had a velvety texture that went down incredibly smoothly. I’ve definitely been consuming unhealthy amounts of this coffee everyday.

Below is the address to Ruta Maya’s actual coffee shop if you’d like to try out their Dark Roast brewed by its own staff (it’s probably ten times better than if you do it on your own):

One thought on “The Best Coffee I’ve Ever Made At Home: Ruta Maya’s Organic Dark Roast

Leave a Reply

