LITERARY COLLECTIVE

My Top 5 Favorite Country Songs at the Moment

We like country music because it tells stories. Stories are the foundation of humanity.

So turn it on, turn it up, and sing along
This is real; this is your life in a song
Yeah, this is country music
— “This is Country Music” by Brad Paisley

5. “Shinin’ On Me” by Jerrod Niemann

Ain’t sweating the little things
And who knows what tomorrow is going to bring
But today, the sun is shinin’ on me

It’s amazing to me how the sunshine can always make me feel on top of the world. It makes me feel invincible and confident, that I will defeat anything that comes in between me and happiness. Jerrod Niemann sings about feeling this way particularly being in the company of a special someone, which is so true! When you’re with someone that you’re genuinely in love (or “in like”) with, there are no worries in the world – the two of you can conquer anything together.

4. “Pontoon” by Little Big Town

Floatin’ is all I wanna do

On the pontoon
Makin’ waves and catchin’ rays up on the roof

This song brings back memories of some of my greatest high school summers in South Carolina. My best friend has a pontoon and we lived next to Lake Murray, one of the largest man-made lakes in the world. Our friends boated with us pretty much all day, everyday blasting music and having a grand ole time (complete with Koozies, too!).

3. “She’s Not Just a Pretty Face” by Shania Twain

She’s not just a pretty face
She’s got everything it takes

She is every woman in the world

I love this song because of the diversity of women mentioned in the lyrics. It really goes to show that we do what we want and what we love, anything and everything. We are a mother, an astronaut, a ballerina, even a football coach, and much more.

2. “Angel Eyes” by Love and Theft

She’s a little bit of heaven with a wild side
Got a rebel heart a country mile wide
There’s a little bit of devil in her angel eyes

These lyrics resonate with me simply because I love it when us ladies are sweet, classy, and polished while also having a bit of crazy, wild fun hidden inside of them. Why not? Life is short.

1. “Wild One” by Faith Hill

They said, “Change your clothes”
She said, “No, I won’t”
They said, “Comb your hair”
She said, “Some kids don’t”

This is the story of my life. I would never do anything I don’t want to do. I live for my own dreams and wishes. Just ask my parents; they had a hard time with me during my adolescent years. Whoops. Oh, and word on the street is that Faith Hill is an ENFJ, just like me – which is totally the icing on the cake for me.

And an honorable mention:

“For You” by Keith Urban

If it came down to it
Could I take the bullet, I would
Yes, I would, for you

Keith Urban dedicated this song to his wife, Nicole Kidman. He wrote this song in gratitude for her sticking by his side and fighting for his alcohol addiction. I feel like this kind of love rarely exists in the world nowadays. It seems to me that people are getting more selfish and they would leave someone who had a glaring problem like this, at least until the addiction is over. But Nicole was by Keith’s side for his entire battle, and that’s something both Keith and I can appreciate.

Leave a Reply

