STYLE & BEAUTY

The Powder Room: How to be sleep-deprived but still fresh-faced.

I have trouble sleeping. Instead of getting several hours of sleep every night, I get a few hours. However, I’m proud to say that I always look well-rested. Three cheers to make-up, anybody? Hip, hip, hooray! Since I’ve already shared my skincare routine on a previous blog post, this one shall be dedicated to my basic make-up routine.

Note: Do NOT be alarmed by the price tags. These “expensive” products last me almost three times as long as drugstore products do (and they certainly work more effectively). You get what you pay for.

Cheek stain: This is my favorite. Not only does it give you an incredible, natural glow, it also lasts the entire day, leaving no greasy powder residue, and does not clog your pores at all. Just apply it onto the apples of your cheeks and immediately thin out the product. Start with just a tad and you can re-apply to build the color, if needed. Be careful not to look clown-ish since you can’t wash off cheek stain. Also, depending on the product line, the cheek stain may also double as a lip stain, which is great for lasting lip color!

Benefit Cosmetics cheek/lip stains ($29)
I usually use Posie Tint but I’ve switched to Cha Cha Tint this summer because “Tangerine Tango” is the Pantone Color of the Year for 2012.
(Source)

Under-eye concealer: This is tough. Your match depends on your own skin tone and shade. My personal rule of thumb is that 1) if the formula is thicker, find a shade that is barely lighter than the rest of your face and 2) if the formula is thinner, then you may opt for a shade that is even a bit lighter than that. I also like to use concealers with a warm undertone. Dab it on with your pinky (which spreads the concealer easily and prevents caking since it has such a light touch) or use a concealer brush. You can also use this as a primer for eyeliner and eyeshadow.

Make Up For Ever Full Cover concealer ($32)
This is very thick so you can use less product (and save money) and it’s waterproof (great for the hot weather).
(Source)

Eyeliner/eyeshadow/mascara: I like to use navy blue eyeliner as a base for my eye make-up. The blue tint offsets the redness in your eyes. As for shadow, I like to mix it up and use different shades from time-to-time. My go-to shades are slightly metallic browns and golds. The best tool for blending your eyeshadow is a brush. Finally, I complete my eye make-up with either a navy blue-tinted mascara for daily use (it’s a less intense color) or black mascara for special occasions (it’s darker and more intense).

Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner in Navy Blue ($22)
(Source)

Smashbox Photo Op Eye Enhancing palettes ($39)
These are exclusive to Sephora stores.
(Source)

Covergirl Lashblast Luxe mascara in Black Royale ($8-11)
I love the hint of sparkle in this, too!
(Source)

Clinique High Impact mascara ($15)
This is my favorite go-to mascara. I’ve trial-and-error-ed so many and I always come back to this one.
(Source)

And lastly, some simple lip balm on my lips is enough to complete this natural, healthy glow – nothing too fancy. To me, Carmex incomparable.

6 thoughts on “The Powder Room: How to be sleep-deprived but still fresh-faced.

    • Thank you! And ah yes, our straight lashes can be quite a struggle, can’t they? Usually when I’m applying mascara, I’ll push the wand against the lash roots for a bit (maybe 10-15 seconds) after I finish coating them. Although this doesn’t curl our lashes much, it’ll help them angle upwards more, creating the illusion of length and curl. On the typical day using this method, I normally rely on volume-enhancing mascara to make my lashes seem fuller. On a special occasion, I’ll add a lengthening mascara to the routine and layer – 1) volumizing mascara, 2) lengthening mascara (let this dry for a very short while; it should still be damp and flexible when applying the next layer), and 3) volumizing mascara again. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

